Birthday Ideas!!

 

After writing last week’s post about all my “inner” feelings, I felt as though a weight had been lifted. I think just writing about something, and admitting it to yourself- and to others- is cathartic.

I went home that night, and have been enjoying, and living in the moment ever since. I’m finally starting to feel like I’m back in my body, so to speak. It’s been a while since I felt this way.

In two weeks, it will be one year since I went into preterm labor and had to be hospitalized. This season just brings back too many traumatic memories for me. Memories of laying in the triage, being spoken to by the neonatologist- with a somber look in his eyes. A look that told me, “I don’t want to be having this conversation with you for at least another 3 weeks” (which is what he actually said).  He had asked me if I knew what the sexes were. I told him two girls. He said that I should be thankful for that- as premature girls do better than boys. Up until that point I had been disappointed that I wasn’t having one of each ( a natural feeling I suppose). Once he said that- I knew why I was having two girls.

This past year has been traumatic in so many ways. I hate to complain, because I know it could have been  much worse. I thank GD every day that my girls are beautiful, healthy, and thriving.

 

I am hoping that with their first birthday, I will be able to put the past year to a close and enjoy the future as a mother of two beautiful daughters.

Seeing as though their birthday is a hop and skip away, I am planning their party. I am not one of those crazy moms who rent elephants for their kids birthday parties- mine will be small. The venue is my apartment, and so far I have about 24 people coming (which is a lot for my humble home).

 

So I need your help- I need ideas!!

It’s at 12pm, and like I said about 20+ people. The girls are wearing tutu’s which I have already purchased (yes, I know they will hate me one day) and I have a co-worker who makes beautiful cakes as a hobby- so she is going to make me two little girl cakes in tutu’s. Other than that- I’m blank. I have no idea what to prepare (as in food- has to be only dairy) what to buy… it’s going to be mostly adults with a sprinkle of a child or two. Anyway- help!!!

I definitely feel that this birthday needs to be celebrated, as that day could have been a tragic one. They have been through a lot this year- and are my little survivors.

4 thoughts on “Birthday Ideas!!

  1. motheringmymiraclemultiples

    we are having about the same number of guests for the kids’ party on the 17th.
    I work at a fire house, so I get the hall rental really cheap…and there is no way I could fit 20-25 people in my house…unless we remove almost every piece of furniture.

    We have ACME stores here. They have some kind of deal with a freee cake for the kids first birthday. I have two stores close, so I plan on double dipping on the freebie….

    They have never had cake. Hopefully, they will like it. If not, it’s not like I am out a bunch of money.

    We got some simple decorations and cute little hats and bibs.

    But I am with you…no elephants or the like…maybe when they turn six, and after we win the lottery….

    I am just glad that they (and I) survived the first year. (exhale!!!)

    Reply
  2. Patti B

    When we had our twins’ first birthday (WOW 12 YEARS AGO) we had the whole “Noah’s Ark” theme – you know, two by two…it was adorable.
    You could really make it easy on yourself and have cake and ice cream only – I know you want to make it a big celebration but honestly, people will eat whatever you have…a fun thing to do would be to have lots of balloons – makes for a very festive look and not so expensive – and great pictures 🙂
    Good luck – can’t wait to hear about it!

    Reply
  3. Daddy Dan

    It’s great to see how much better you’re doing this week! Yes, continue to just live in the moment and things go much smoother, don’t you think?

    As for the birthday party, we went way overboard on The Babito’s 1st birthday. Too many people and too many activities going on. The Babito was very uncomfortable. My advice would be to do things that your daughters will enjoy and feel comfortable with.

    Reply
  4. mamaspohr

    I’m going through the same thing!!! I think I’m just getting big subway sandwiches…Maybe you could do that with veggies subs? And crackers, cheese, veggies, dips, hummus, stuff like that – all REALLY easy. Do you have a Trader Joe’s near you? Because they are PERFECT for this kind of thing. And for the kids, the cake of course. But also have baggies of cheerios for them, stuff like that.

    Reply

Leave a comment