House of Cards

 

I’m not going to lie to you people, I’ve been sick- really sick on and off for two weeks and I am tired of being sick. First it was the stomach bug from hell that went around my family last week. Then after finally starting to feel better- bam!

Monday night as I was about to leave work I felt as though I was going to pass out…my throat was closing up, I couldn’t stand straight. I cabbed it back home because I was not going to make the subway ride without being a mess.

I got home and didn’t leave my bed for days. I had a fever of 103. I could hardly keep my eyes open. Went to a doctor (since I don’t actually have a family practitioner) and he suspected I may have had pneumonia. Went for a chest xray, where the xray tech was being nasty since he couldn’t get a good picture of my chest because I couldn’t stand upright for longer than a few seconds (jerk). Was finally told it was just bronchitis and strep, and was told to stay in bed the week. I’m sure my boss was OVER THE MOON that I have missed 6 days of work in the last two weeks, but I fell like a deck of cards people.

I couldn’t be near my kids for days in fears that they might get whatever it is I had, so my mom would bring them by my bed for a moment to say hello. I’m sure they didn’t get why I wasn’t playing with them.

You have always got to look at the plus side though- lost seven pounds ( whoo-hoo!).

I still feel like a rag doll and definitely NOT like myself.

Is it just me, or have you ladies noticed that after giving birth you get sick way more than you ever had before? My body is just different. I never had allergies prior to giving birth, now I have to take allergy medication every morning. I also get sick very easily. Every sniffle that someone has I manage to catch it. I was an OX before.

I’ve had many thought laying in bed fore these past two weeks… I am going to make a change in my life although I am not quite sure what it will be. First I wanted to chop my hair off (into a bob) but my facebook friends all warned me not to.

I feel like I am getting sick because I have way too much responsibility on my shoulders. I am the one keeping my family afloat financially. My husband is still a student and is in school almost all week. I haven’t payed my rent this month because if I do- I wont have money for anything else (including food)- and I cant use my credit cards anymore.

I have never been in this situation before and it is making me sick- physically.

I’m not trying to cry and be all “wah wah” in my post, I know everyone these days is feeling the pinch.

Once this semester is over (in May) the man will be looking for a job, because I just cant do it anymore. I just cant.

6 thoughts on “House of Cards

  1. heather...

    I am sick AGAIN, too. I thought moms were supposed to have all these immunities, but I have never been sick so much in my life.

    I’ve been there with the stress of supporting the whole family. I wish I could do something for you!

    Reply
  2. Robin

    Sounds miserable. And yes, you do get sick more after having a baby, or two. You’re more tired, so your defenses are down, they bring in more germs, and on top of that the stress you’re facing. Yup, no wonder you’re sick.

    Can your mom make up a big batch of chicken soup for you?

    Feel better soon.

    PS Buttermilk is rivyon :). Took me ages to figure it out too.

    Reply
  3. Petals

    So sorry you aren’t feeling well. I think everyone is getting sick these days. I hope you feel better soon! Drink lots of tea with honey 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment