No- not everything is perfect like it looks on Facebook.

As I sat in my therapist’s office yesterday, the words come out of me.

I become jealous when I see women with their infants, smiling, as they walk down the street.

What do I have to be jealous about? I not only have ONE, but TWO infants. They should be jealous of me, not the other way around, right?

This jealousy started when I was so desperately trying to conceive, and I would walk by a woman with a  belly that was full of life. I wondered to myself if I would ever to be lucky enough to know what it would be like to grow a child inside of me. I mean, surely- once I would become a mother this feeling would no longer reside in my heart.

As I explored my feelings with my new therapist, I started crying. 

I felt guilty saying the words, I feel guilty just writing them now.

Having twins is not what I expected.

There, I said it.

I was readingEmotionally Healthy Twins” by Joan Friedman (which by the way is a MUST READ for twin parents) and read that Women who have had fertility treatments in order to become pregnant with twins (and then have trouble raising them) feel so guilty about their feelings that they dare not speak about them. I mean, THEY wanted the children. They went through 7 levels of hades just to become pregnant and to carry their babies to a point where they would survive.

Do you know how many children are not born OK? How amazing it is, and un-ordinary to have a healthy child? And to have two of them? It’s like you hit the lotto.

But my feelings still fester.

I don’t feel as though I have truly bonded with my girls. I don’t feel like a mother, and often I don’t feel maternal.

I leave my home at 7:30AM for work and return at 6:45PM. Almost 12 hours out of the home. When I get home, my girls are  tired and ready to go to bed. They don’t want to play, they don’t want to interact. They want to eat, and sleep. So that precious mommy and me time- I don’t have it.

I couldn’t breastfeed.

I couldn’t even hold them for longer than 5 minutes at a time for their first few weeks of life (because they were in the NICU).

I didn’t have that rich, beautiful experience of having everyone come visit me in the hospital with a beautiful, healthy baby/ies in my arm. It was all clouded in fear. The weeks leading up were all full of fear and helplessness.

When I do have some time with them, I feel as though I have to split myself up into two. I cant hold both of them, and they cannot have my undivided attention.

Sometimes I envy women with a singleton. The bond that they have time to form…. something I have missed out on.

I was watching an episode of Oprah when she had on The Goslings aka John & Kate Plus Eight.

John recalled the story that Kate had begged him for one more child after she had the twins. She said she wanted to know what it was like “just to have one”… of course, she then said “I guess I’ll never know”.

I am so beyond thankful that I had two children. I just didn’t know how hard it would really be. Externally, I can manage. I mean- I can feed two, change two, bathe two etc… But the internal conflicts I feel about raising two is something that I did not expect.

What people don’t tell you, is that sometimes you favor one twin more. Apparently, this is very natural and the twin you favor often changes. Of course knowing that this is normal, still does not make you feel any less horrified with yourself.

I grew up in a home where I was NOT the favored child. That title landed on my brother’s shoulders. I VOWED to myself that I would Never Ever favor one child over the other.

Of course, feeling favor for one child, and acting on it are two different things.

People don’t tell you how when you pick one child up, the other looks at you and cries because they want to be picked up too. They don’t tell you your heart breaks when this happens and how you hate yourself for not being able to fulfill their needs simultaneously. And although there is no way you possibly can tear yourself in two to do everything, you wish you secretly could.

I feel as though I have failed.

I cant do it all.

I cant work full time, keep my house clean, cook and be a perfect mother and wife.

I wish I could be.

I just thought that this would be different.

I am not supermom. I’m not even superwife.

It doesn’t help when my husband tells me that he wishes I was a more enthusiastic mother. As if I don’t feel guilty enough.

A friend of mine who I saw last weekend asked me if my life is fun. She says that when she sees my pictures on Face.book she says it looks like I  have the perfect life.

I told her I don’t. Those sites make everything look beautiful and perfect. I mean, who is going to put up a picture of themselves looking horrible, pictures of their kids crying, the house being a total mess?

what a facade.

I am living a facade.

 

I try to get  through each day.

 

Day by Day.

18 thoughts on “No- not everything is perfect like it looks on Facebook.

  1. Pingback: No- not everything is perfect.

  2. Sugar & Ice

    I appreciate your honesty, Maya. I obviously haven’t had my twins yet, so I can’t really give my opinion on any of this. I do worry sometimes that I will favor Lila over the twins since I have already had two and a half years to bond with her. Then I remind myself that worrying about such things is pointless.

    No one can do it all…not you, not me, not anyone. If you look at other moms and think they are doing it all, then they’ve done a great job at fooling you. Hang in there…I have a feeling those maternal instincts will hit you any time. You may be one of the many moms that just prefers mothering once they get past the baby stage…and that isn’t something to feel guilt over.

    Reply
  3. Elaine

    I stumbled on to your blog.
    I don’t know if my opinion will help you or not but here goes.

    I am a mom of three. All singletons. I remember about 6yrs ago asking my mother if she felt guilty favoring me over my sister. She was rather shocked I had asked that question. The reason why I asked was because inside I felt the same way about one of mine. I was feeling like the words worst mother.
    I don’t feel that way anymore. I remember the day I realized that. It felt like a weight had been lifted from my shoulders. I no longer felt like I was choosing.

    It took some time to realize that part of it was because when she was 13 months old her father and I were in the middle of a divorce and we were splitting the living arrangements. She ended up spending more time at her dads because my hours were so much longer. This went on till she was 2 1/2yrs old. The bond with her was altered because she was away from me more then the other kids.

    So I know this is nothing like the twins being away from you. My point is that the bond grew back between her and I. So maybe there is hope for ruptured bonds.

    She just turned 13yrs old this past Friday. She is my middle child.

    Good luck with your girls.

    Reply
  4. pillarr1

    I think all of us fertility survivors understand what you are going through when you see a pregnant woman or women with children. They always look so freakin happy. I just try to remember that when I see them, I am looking in the mirror. That is me. I have a child too. And, I look happy and smile when I am in public. I guess we always feel that everyone else is happier than us and has an easier time than us. That is not true. Everyone has the same ups and downs like us.

    I will have to admit that when I read your blog it seems that your life is so happy and coordinated. When I read about all of the things that you do, I say to myself – why don’t I do all of that fun stuff? It seems that your life is so much more exciting than mine.

    You DO have a great life that you love. It is just a difficult time and it will get better. At least you are brave enough to talk about it with others. I envied your ability to keep your blog up when you were on best rest and your girls were in the NICU. I could not have done it. You are a lot stronger than you think you are. Just take it day by day or week by week. As the girls become more independent I think it will be a little easier.

    When my 7 month old was 2 months old, my mom asked me a question. “Is motherhood what you thought it would be?” I replied “no.” I was unable to enjoy my daughter because I could not sleep and it seemed that something was always wrong. Now that she is getting more independent and sleeping better at night, it is getting a little easier. I have also learned to let some things go that I would never have done before. Things like cleaning, washing clothes, cooking everyday. I now just concentrate on keeping the bathrooms clean and the living room vacuumed. We eat on paper plates and drink out of paper cups. When I cook, I cook casseroles that we can have for dinner for two nights. I wash every 3 or 4 days now.

    Yes, it is certainly easier with one. But you are awesome to be able to do all that you do and keep it all together. Keep your head up sister!

    Reply
  5. anna

    I don’t have any twins, just singles. I can’t even imagine how much more work has to go into taking care of two babies at once. My oldest are 16 months apart and sometimes it was extremely hard. Sometimes it still is. Because it’s work, it is tiring and not always fun, and hard to form the bonds that everyone tells us should be so easy and instantaneous. It might be difficult to see it, but those bonds are there and keep growing stronger.

    The hardest, but most rewarding thing I did when they were younger was to realize that the state of our house and the fact that I worked away from home were not the deal breakers in the relationship between us. It’s hard to shake that parenting guilt that still stalks me telling me that individually they are not getting as much attention from me as I feel like they should have. Even if the only sign of affection I could give them on some days was a kiss while they were sleeping, as long as I can show them in some way that I love them, things will be OK.

    Reply
  6. ally

    Although I am not a mother yet, I can absolutely relate with your issue with jealousy of those with seemingly “perfect” lives… I just wrote a little about this in my own post today. When things don’t go the way we thought they would, its a natural reaction to be jealous of those who are living the life we so desperately want. I am so happy that you have an outlet through therapy – I know you’ll be able to sort through these feelings. Just keep being honest with yourself and things will eventually begin to fall in line. Even if you aren’t feeling “maternal”, it is quite obvious that you ADORE your girls and that you care very deeply about them and their well being. In my mind that alone indicates you’re a wonderful mother.

    Hang in there.

    Reply
  7. heather...

    As a twin, I know I never felt slighted growing up. I think that it’s harder for the parents than it ever is for the children. They are resilient, and once they have their own interests and personalities, you’ll be able to spend alone time with each of them.

    But it’s hard to balance. You know how I feel about it. Why can’t we just be millionaires?

    Reply
  8. Zip n Tizzy

    Wow!
    First… sending a hug to you.
    Next, that was beautifully honest and so devestatingly true.
    There are so many things people don’t tell you about being a parent period. And so many variables.
    Hang in there. It’s a constant ebb and flow. It won’t always be better, but it will change. I don’t have twins, but my boys are very close in age, and I have heard myself say almost everything that you have written in this post.
    Be gentle on yourself. You’re doing a great job, even if it’s hard to see it from the inside.

    Reply
  9. Daddy Dan

    Hang in there, Maya. Things will get better for you, I’m sure. Try not to be so hard on yourself. I’m sure you’re doing the best job you can do. I agree with others that say it’s an ebb and flow and you’re just in a down period right now.

    Wait until the twins start talking and you’re able to interact more with them. I think that will really help in your bonding with them.

    Reply
  10. es

    I can identify with a lot that you wrote. I LOVE having twins and really wouldn’t want it any other way- but sometimes, when one is sleeping and the other is awake, and it’s just me and that baby, I can’t help but think- this is nice! Cause you can’t snuggle in bed with two babies, you can’t roll around with two babies, you can’t play with two babies at the same time. And I get worried that each child feels fully loved and are given equal attention. There are times when I’m holding one and the other looks at me and cries from jealousy, and I feel so bad.

    I also feel like I favor one above the other- but I try not to show it to them (even though they’re only 8 months old and I don’t know if they’re aware of these things). If I take one out of the crib first, I will take the other out first the next time.

    It IS hard, and there’s no way you could have prepared for it before having the kids. Hang in there.

    Reply
  11. topcat

    Maya. Do you know why I just logged on? To come to your blog, and tell you that I had a dream about you last night. You were in Australia! I was introducing you to Mr TC, and all of my friends. You had come by yourself, because you needed time out. (Your hair looked GREAT in my dream, by the way).

    I have been thinking of you for weeks, actually. Wondering how you were going ….

    I’m going to email you. Some things I need to say are too private for any blog!! I CAN be discreet! Who knew!

    {{{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}}

    Reply
  12. KJ and the kids

    Girl you are NOT alone. I know you know this because you’ve heard it before….but I also know how important it is to keep hearing it.
    We ALL feel this way. Do you remember how DEVISTATED I was when I found out I was having twins again. All I wanted was to have a perfect, easy, sweet singleton girl. 🙂 ha ha
    I was blessed with healthy twins but twins nonetheless.
    We all feel this and I think after that first year mark you suddenly turn a corner. I’m pretty sure it was just after their 1 year birthdays that things started getting easier and fitting better.

    I’m sorry you have to work. I don’t have any advice for you there. Just suck up the time you do have with them at night and on the weekends.

    I do know that I had to sit down and have a come to Jesus meeting (being jewish, you can have a come to Jahova meeting:) and change my attitude.
    Having twins isn’t something you can change…nor can you change the fact that you work full time. Your attitude towards them and your situation is something you do have control over.
    Who knows, maybe in changing how you act and feel, it will change how they act and feel.

    Just know you are not alone and that we are all here for you.

    Reply
  13. Stacie

    Maya, try not to be so hard on yourself. I’m pretty sure your feelings are normal (at least I hope so because I feel that way, too). I tend to “favor” one baby (although we call it “specialize”), while dh “favors” the other. It just sort of naturally worked out that way. I think as they get older, and less demanding and more independent, that favoring will even out a little more. Hopefully it will be like Karen says above, and things will turn a corner in a few short weeks.

    I know the guilt well, too. It isn’t a pleasant feeling.

    Hugs to you as you sort all of this out within yourself…know that I am here to offer support while you do. Mwah.

    Reply
  14. Kirsten

    I am late on this but hopefully you’ll still check the comments!

    It took me a long time to be thankful to have twins and a long time to admit that. At first, I only saw the negatives and the drain that they put on both me and my husband, which I feel horrible admitting but it’s the truth. I still tell people that the first three months were SO hard, I am not sure how I got through it. Now that they are older and interacting, I am so glad to have them both…but it still gets overwhelming. And, yes, the guilt of holding one while the other looks at you with those pitiful, crying eyes…ugh. It is heartbreaking. But, with me, it wasn’t just this “bang” instant moment where all of a sudden I was jumping up and down, ecstatic about my twins and that I had finally fallen truly and deeply in love. It’s come over time and I know it’ll continue to grow as things continue to get easier (even though I know some things will get more difficult).

    You know what else though? I am so proud of myself and my husband and of all parents of multiples because it is a heck of a job. Even though we sometimes don’t feel adequate, the proof is there. I’m not there to physically see your girls but from what I do see, they are very happy little ladies, and very well taken care of. Pat yourself of the back!!! You are doing great…it’s not for everyone and I choose to believe that we were given twins for a reason, because we CAN handle it even when we think we can’t.

    Just know that I understand and that it is very evident how much you love your girls.

    Reply
  15. Petals

    Hi Maya,
    i just wanted to thank you for being so honest here. It’s brave and refreshing. I can’t imagine what its like to have twins, but I am pretty sure I’d be feeling the same way. I know photos don’t say everything but I can definitely tell your girls are so loved from those photos you post and for that you should feel like a very proud ima : )

    Reply
  16. Sarah

    I hope that you are a little feeling better since a few days have passed since you wrote this. You should be proud of yourself and stop holding yourself to an idealized standard of mothering…it doesn’t exist by the way! Those women on the street have more on their plates than you can imagine. Hang in there!

    Reply
  17. Patti B

    I know how you feel – but listen, by the time they are my twins’ age (12) – whoever is giving you the least hard time will be the favored one!! It will be ok 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment