You are 3

My Dear Sweet Amazing Daughters,

Yesterday was your birthday.

Yesterday, you were 3 years old.

3 sounds so small, so young… but we have all overcome so much together.

3 years ago  you came into this world, 10 weeks earlier than expected.

The truth is, I am so so glad it was at 30 weeks 4 days.

You almost made your debut at 25 weeks.

And with each passing moment I PRAYED that you would stay another day.

So thank you for hanging out  for another 5 weeks, despite all the disgusting hospital food  I ate .

***

So 3 years have passed since that cold november morning.

3 years since I was scared out of my mind.

3 years since I didn’t know if you would both be OK or not.

3 years since the NICU.

3 years since I battled PPD and PTSD.

3 years since learning what the meaning of the word “Mommy”  truly meant.

You both have brought nothing but joy into my life.

You give me something to look forward to every day.

**************************************************************************************************************************

Neve,

You are 3!! Every time I ask you how old you are going to be, you hold up 3 fingers and say “Twee”.

You are my first-born.

You were my first parenting experience ( since you were the first one home from the NICU).

Those first 2 weeks spent together, were beautiful.

We bonded.

You were such an easy baby.

Literally, until you turned a year old you were SO SO quiet.

Then at 1, your personality shifted.

You became the louder one of the two.

You KNOW WHAT YOU WANT.

And you are not afraid to fight for it.

G-D you are so so stubborn.

You remind me of me.

You look so much like your father, and yet your personality is all Mommy.

It took you a while to speak.

I was actually beginning to worry.

But now, you are ALL about talking.

You speak both English and Hebrew..

You love to be the center of attention.

You like to play in the dirt and sand.. you don’t mind getting dirty.

I was the same way, and was BERATED for it.

I was always told that I should act like a lady.

But that was only one part of me.

So when I see you act the way I did, I am your biggest cheerleader.

If anyone DARES to say that your rough and tumble ways are bad and boy-like… I WILL TAKE THEM DOWN.

It took you much longer to potty train, but we got it down now don’t we?

You heart is so wide.

You don’t like to see anyone sad.

If I look sad, you come over and give me a hug and a kiss.

You don’t like to be held too much, so I give you your space.

But when you do want hugs and kisses, I am always there waiting.

I love your hair.

I have always had a hate/hate relationship with my own hair

You have no fear.

You love to try something new before you even think it through.

You are impulsive.

You always manage to make me laugh.

I adore you so so much.

I think you know just how much.

Love ,

Your Mommy

***

Soleil,

Hi Little girl!

So.

Where do we begin?

You worried me when you were born.

You were the bigger baby, and yet you had the most problems.

You liked to stop breathing.

A lot.

When you finally came home to us, you liked to cry.

A LOT.

And so I cried.

A LOT.

It took some time for you and I to see eye to eye.

When you hit one years old, your personality shifted.

You became the quieter one of the two.

Introverted.

There is SO MUCH going on in your little head.

I know there is.

I feel it.

You are scared of new things.

You think before you act.

You always think about the consequences before you do something.

You LOVE to cuddle.

If you could melt into my arms, you would.

You look a lot like me, and yet your overall coordination is so amazing.. not like mine at all.

Every night, when Daddy and I are in a deep sleep, you like to tip toe out of your bed, and sneak into ours.

I am not a fan of co-sleeping, but when it happens in the middle of the night, I am ok with it.

And secretly I love it.

You are such a good girl.

Very polite.

You like to share and help us out around the house.

You love to dress up and you ADORE shoes.

I want you to know just how much I love you, even though I can’t sit down and cuddle with you all day.

You truly are my sunshine girl.

Love Always,

Mommy

***

Happy Birthday my beautiful girls…. Thank you for making me a mommy.

6 thoughts on “You are 3

  1. Nellie

    Such a beautiful post to your gorgeous daughters! Your girls are truly blessed to have a MOMMY like you – you let them grow into themselves and cheer them on as they are doing it!

    Best to you and your wonderful family!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

