Butter Pecan in the Sky

I am currently laying in bed as sick as a DAWG and decided to post.

I mean, what better time to write when you have some free time?

My body ACHES, reminds me of when I was a teen and my legs would hurt and my mother would tell me they were growing pains, and all I could think of was the theme song from ‘Growing Pains’ the TV show. Speaking of which, I totally had a Kirk Cameron poster on my door when I was 7, until my mother decided she should buy me a Christina Applegate poster in her lingerie… which I never ever understood… I mean, yes I loved ‘Married with Children’  (which was WAYYYY inappropriate for me to have been watching at the age of 9 anyway) but she wasnt my favorite actress, nor was I a hormone filled 13-year-old boy.

Some things I will just never get.

Anyway, so as I was saying… my bones hurt. I feel like a rag doll. Even my fingers hurt.

I hope its a 48 hour virus, because Mama does NOT have insurance yet.

Israel has global healthcare, but since we moved here and are considered previous citizens we have a waiting period of 6 months until we are entitled to health care…

I guess I get it, they dont want people to come to Israel, have medical procedures done and then leave…

At least children under 18 are covered automatically without a waiting period.

This whole waiting 6 months thing made me laugh out loud because I am someone who ALWAYS gets sick.

ALL THE TIME.

The nurse at my doctors offices always laughed and said that I should have a punch card.

So I am doing my damnedest not to get sick.

Until now.

So A few minutes ago my husband said he was going out for cigarettes and I asked him to buy me:

1) A King Cone

2) Ices

He looks at me and goes “You’re not pregnant, just sick” which I replied “Yes, but I am sick AND I have my period so it’s the same thing”

I asked for vanilla and he came back with a butter pecan king come which reminds me of the time I worked for a Dunkin Donuts/ Baskin Robins store and my elderly neighbor named Eugene walked in and asked me for a scoop of butter pecan ice cream “My favorite since I was a little boy” he said to me.

I gave him his scoop, and he went off on his way merrily.. he passed a few months later.

So even though I am not a big fan of butter pecan ice cream.. here’s to you Eugene!!

Sick AND eating ice cream- how do i do it?

Sick AND eating ice cream how do i do it?

5 thoughts on “Butter Pecan in the Sky

  1. Mara

    Sorry you aren’t feeling well 😦 Hope it is just a virus. Aunt Flo is visiting me as well (TMI, I know) so I have been eating ice cream too…..and brownies. In high school, I LOVED Buffy the Vampire slayer and my mom bought me a poster of a scantily clad Sarah Michelle Gellar holding a stake and a crucifix. Weirdness.

    Reply
  2. Anita

    “as long we got each other….”

    Great! Now I will have that song in my head for the next few days. The theme song to Different Strokes also has the same effect.

    Reply
  3. mel

    I don’t know what a King Cone is, but I love me some Hadgan Daz Butter Pecan Ice cream. I totally had a Kirk Cameron poster that said “Hugs, not Drugs” lol.

    Reply
  4. KJ and the Kids

    I am still perplexed by the Christina Applegate poster thing. What’s wrong with having one hang on your wall ? ha ha ha
    Funny thing is…when I watched that show…and I was older than you…I had a crush on Kirk Cameron. He was a little feminine though. ha ha

    I hope by now you are feeling better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

