I do not drive on the highway.

Did I ever tell you about the time that I was almost killed?

Almost crushed to death?

Pinned under an 18-wheeler?

I was 20 years old and decided to go out one night with my sorority sisters to a mixer (IE where one fraternity and one sorority hang out for the night). It was supposed to be a wonderful night full of laughs, and smack talk about other greek life.

It didnt end that way.

We piled into a car and were supposed to be following someone Else’s car on the road since we didn’t have directions.

It was one of my sorority sisters car -that her parents had purchased for her. She had been driving for a while, but never on the highway.

This was her first time.

I rode shotgun.

I rode shotgun because I was the heaviest of the crew.

4 girls sat in the back seats.

She was in the left lane.

It was a Friday night.

She panicked.

She swerved uncontrollably into the 18 wheeler Fed Ex truck to our right.

The time seemed to be going in slow motion as we flew in the direction of the truck.

Many things race through your mind.

Is this the way I’m going to die?

Why was I so obsessed with that boy who didn’t love me?

You sort of get some sort of enlightenment when you know it’s all going to end. The meaning of life rushes into you.

And then the car stopped.

I opened my eyes.

I was alive.

The girls in the back found their way out of the car, but me and the driver were stunned.

I couldn’t move.

I was in shock.

A friend of ours who was in a car that was following us, jumped out of his car and ran like the wind to us. He pulled the driver out from her side of the car, and then proceeded to pull me out form the drivers side since the car door on my side was crushed.

scan0001

They screamed for all of us to run.

We didn’t know if the car was going to set fire.

It smelled of gasoline.

 

scan0002

I remember standing on the side of the road with my “sisters” as we all stood their in shock. The car was crushed. And yet, we were all alive.

How?

I remember screaming:

“How are we ALIVE?????????”

“HOW?”

I was hysterical.

A man on a motorcycle who was stuck in the traffic of it all, consoled me.

He hugged me.

I will never ever forget that.

The kindness of that man.

The kindness of the friend who pulled us out of the car.

As I walked to the ambulance, I remember having to pass the wreck.

 

My knees buckled and I fell to the floor.

I could have easily died.

scan0003

The worst part of that wreck was on my side- technically I should have been gone.

But there I was, not a scratch on me.

I remember my hair being full of glass from the windshield.

Even my jean jacket pocket had shards of  glass in it.

When you go through something so life changing, you realize just how precious life truly is.

How it can be gone in a moment.

How at the end of the day, life’s mundane problems don’t mean jack.

They really don’t.

I try to remember this when I become upset that I am not where I should be financially.

I try to remember that when my kids wont stop screeching.

I try to remember that when my husband doesn’t throw out the garbage and my house stinks.

I try so hard, but sometimes I forget.

Why is it that it has to take being ((this close)) to meeting your maker in order to appreciate your life?

6 thoughts on “I do not drive on the highway.

  1. ohn

    WOW. Are those the actual photos of YOUR accident? If so, sweetie, you must have a bigger purpose in this world to have survived that.

    Reply
  2. KJ and the Kids

    That is AMAZING ! I can’t belive you walked away with NOTHING.
    Life obviously had more planned for you 🙂 great things. maybe some have happened, maybe some are yet to come 🙂

    Reply
  3. amy d

    Those are AMAZING pictures! The fact that you were not hurt is such a miracle.
    Car accidents are so surreal. I was in a bad one in high school with my boyfriend at the time. The car swerved off into a deep ditch. I don’t remember climbing out of the car, but as I was climbing back up to the high way I heard this heavy breathing. After a few moments I realized that those sounds were coming from me. I was hyperventilating. Very strange if you’ve never experienced such a thing.

    A full sized suburban was totalled that night, but me and the driver were fine. Not a scratch.

    So glad you were unharmed as well!

    Reply
  4. Romi

    Incredible, nothing short of a miracle! Don’t be hard on yourself, as long as you remember to appreciate life on a regular basis, that’s great! We are still all entitled to be annoyed…

    PS: love your blog, looks awesome 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: How the Hell do you Ladies do it? « Gemini Girl

Leave a Reply

