I’m a Friend of Maddie

On rare occassions  do you happen to find a friend by accident, someone who you instantly feel as though you have known your entire life. Someone who is like a long lost sister.

For me, that person is Heather Spohr.

Heather is somewhat blog famous now- unfortunately because of the tragic, soul- wrenching loss of her daughter Madeline.

As a NICU mom myself, it’s hard not to have that part of your life seared into your every day.

I look at my beautiful daughters and know that life could have been VERY VERY different for us.

When Heather lost Maddie, I ached for her. I knew that it could have easily been me in her situation. I felt guilt.

Being a NICU mom is not something i wish on anyone. Looking at your tiny child (or children in my case) and knowing that you as a parent cant do anything to help them. They are solely in the hands of the NICU. You give up your parental rights so to speak, and trust that those AMAZING Doctors and nurses will take care of your little ones.

I remember searching out for anyone who had been through the NICU experience and had beautiful, healthy children. I didn’t know anyone in my own life that did.

In the parents room at the NICU there was a wall with a collage of pictures. Pictures of NICU graduates, looking beautiful and healthy. Just what I needed to see.

We were first time parents, scared and unprepared.

Through the darkness of Maddie’s passing, Heather & Mike are trying to provide light for other NICU parents.

Today, they have  officially launched :

 

Their mission:

Is to provide support to the families of critically ill babies in an effort to help ease the transition into NICU life and to be an ally until the end of their child’s hospital stay.

 

Maddie's Bags

Their Family Support Packs will be provided to the nursing staff of Level III Neonatal Intensive Care Units across the country and will be distributed, at their discretion, to families of children being admitted to the NICU for long term care.

The packs will consist of:

  • A large reusable bag
  • A Tri-folio with a pad of paper for note taking, and an accordion file to help keep track of paperwork
  • A reusable water bottle
  • A disposable camera
  • Antibacterial Lotion
  • Chapstick
  • Tissues
  • Pens
  • Mints
  • A travel toothbrush with toothpaste
  • Snack Bars

When Heather told me that she was doing this, I wasn’t surprised. Heather & Mike are amazing people who know that their child’s life was not in vein. They want to help anyone they can.

Heather asked me if she could use a few pictures of my girls and our NICU experience on the site.

 Of course, it wasn’t a question.

When I look at the picture that she posted of me with Soleil, it takes me back to that time:

I was so scared. So frightened. I wish there was an organization like this when I was a NICU mom to help ease my fears and offer support.

Now there is.

Click here to donate.

Every dollar helps.

 

Maddie has some great parents.

5 thoughts on “I’m a Friend of Maddie

  1. Rachel

    I am going to go to the hospital this weekend (I live in Vegas) and take a bunch of the magazines and books that I was going to donate to Goodwill. Hopefully, I can help the moms and dads who are sitting there to have a small distraction!

    Reply
  2. Amanda

    I love your post – I love that you have added what is included in the packs as well – I think this is such a great legacy for Maddie – the little girl with the beautiful smile.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

