Mommy’s High Heel Shoes (Yes, I’m doing book reviews now)

I received a really fun book last week- and told the author that I would do a book review! Now, mind you- if I didn’t like it I would be quite honest. I would say,“Well, it just isn’t for me”…. but It was sooo for me!

The book is called “Mommy’s High Heel Shoes”by Kristie Finnan.

 

cover-horizontal

The story centers around a little girl whose mother works outside the home full time. The girl becomes enamoured with her mother’s shoes and imagines what her mother does at work or when she’s out- while wearing the shoes.

I liked this story because I am a working mother myself. I work outside the home 40 hours a week (50 if you count my commute time). It’s not easy being a working mom since I feel guilty about the time that I cant spend with my girls. It’s nice to know that there are other mothers hwo can relate.

There is a line in the book where the daughter asks her mother why she wears her high heeled shoes since they are hard to walk in. The mother replys that although they are hard to walk in  “..Wearing them makes me feel good. And when I feel good, I’m a better mommy.”

I loved that line in the book, because it’s not just about the shoes. I definitely feel like I am a better mother when I work. Just getting up in the mornings, putting on work attire, applying make-up, having adult conversations… just makes me be the best mom that I can be (of course, everyone has their own thoughts on what makes them a better mother).

Overall, the book was really well written, funny and  the illustration was phenemoenal!

Go out and get a book for yourself, or as a gift for the working mothers in your life!

***PS- If you type in the code : ggirl   ( before 12/31/2008 )  In the shopping cart, you recieve 10% off!****

4 thoughts on “Mommy’s High Heel Shoes (Yes, I’m doing book reviews now)

  1. Rachel Inbar

    Cute 🙂 Though I work from home (my kids would swear I don’t have a job) and I never wear heels (they just don’t make decent ones for women with double E feet, at least not ones that you can buy in Israel…)

    Reply
  2. Helene

    That sounds like a really fun book!! I, too, like the line about the shoes making her feel good and when she feels good she’s a better mommy! That’s SO true!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

