Never talk about Religion or Politics

With the presidential debate soon approaching, I am finding my lack of enthusiasm alarming. I am not happy with either candidate

Sorry hardcore Obama fans.

My  gut tells me that Obama is all talk. I think Barack’s speeches are mesmerising- they give us all hope. But I also think that he is a wonderful speaker, and hope is what we all need right about now. Our economy is in the garbage, our international relationships are in the toilet, and I think just about anyone who says the right things right now can reel us in. But does he have the experience to back up the dreams he’s selling? The media is putty in his hands, and that can sway the undecided voters.

I find it difficult to vote for a man who was associated with people who are anti-America. And maybe it’s just the Israeli in me- but it truly scares me. What if there is something going on behind the scenes that we DON’T know about.

Barack looks like a family man (and since my husband shares his name I am biased). He has two beautiful daughters and a powerful wife. I love Michele Obama- and you know what they say- behind every great man, there is a great woman. He is a man of color and I think the world needs that. I also admire the fact that he did not come from a well-to-do household- which means he got to where he is on his own merit.

It’s just that his lack of experience, his past associations, and his candy coated words scare me.

John McCain is getting on in his years.  I am not age- prejudice, it’s just that IF something were to happen to him- SARAH PALIN WOULD BE PRESIDENT!?!

wtf?

The woman is NOT PRO WOMEN. Period.

I dont like the fact that he has voted with Dubbya 90% of the time, that he left his first wife once he was freed from captivity (she was a former beauty queen, had a terrible car accident that left her less than beauty queen like while he was a POW) and actually dated Cindy while he was still married! What does that say about his character? He comes from a well-to-do household and is married to a very rich woman. I feel like he truly wouldnt be able to relate to problems like ours.

I do like that Mcain served our country- and that he knows what it’s like to be on the front lines defending us.

I am sad to say that I am not voting. I know it is my right as an American to vote. Many countries don’t have a voting system. But if I did, my heart wouldn’t be into it… and I would ultimately be voting for the lesser of two evils in my eyes.

Oh, Hillary- Where art thou?

9 thoughts on “Never talk about Religion or Politics

  1. Sugar & Ice

    THANK YOU! I totally agree with most of what you said…except the Hillary part..I didn’t like her either. I will be voting third party this year. I am finding that I don’t really jive with either party these days. I know that a lot of people think that if you don’t vote for a Republican or Democrat then you’re throwing away your vote…but I disagree. I feel like voting for a Republican or Democrat that I don’t believe in would be the wrong thing to do. I think voting for someone that I actually believe could do a good job, even though they’re not known by 99% of the American public is the right thing for me this time. I think we need to get back to what our founding fathers wanted for this country, which is all in our Constitution. So, I’m voting for the Constitutionalist candidate. This way, when Obama (or McCain…but seriously, what are the odds he’s going to win) screws up, I will feel good about my choice.

    Reply
  2. HeatherPride

    I completely understand how you feel and agree with almost everything (except I’m not a Hillary fan, sorry!). I have kind of given up caring who wins this election. I think Obama is pooping rainbows and McCain is just kind of scary, period. I’ll be voting for my usual team, but not because I’m thrilled about it. (I especially agree with Obama’s affiliations with anti-American people – very unsettling!)

    Reply
  3. Daddy Dan

    Maya, you also have the right in this country not to vote, so don’t feel bad, especially since you don’t really love either candidate.

    I like the fact that you shared you thoughts on both candidates. It was very well-written. They both definitely have their good and bad points.

    Reply
  4. kerry

    Amen sista! I agree with everything you said.
    I JUST wrote a polital post as well. Eva left a pretty informative comment that you might want to check out.

    Reply
  5. Kirsten

    It’s like my husband said, he’s a lawyer and knows how to say what people want to hear. I’m right there with you though, neither truly strikes me as someone worthy. I just want it to be over with already.

    Reply
  6. Rachel

    I agree with you 100% about Obama and McCain!!!!! I’ve been struggling with who to vote for and it’s definitely the lesser of 2 evils. Scary.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

