I have been so tired this past week and it is SOLELY due to the fact that last week was just a NON-STOP roller coaster. I have been going to bed at 9pm every night this week. I like sleeping in, don’t get me wrong. I mean I relish more than 2 hours of sleep. I think I deserve it after the crazy few months I had with my daughters as newborns (and Heather is still going through it).

Last week was party central in my household.

Other than working all week, we had company over on Thursday night.

We invited over the new mom with her baby, husband and her siblings and parent’s who are here form Israel visiting the new parents. Her family lives in the same farm settlement as my husband in Israel. So of course we had to invite them over or else they would have went back to Israel and told everyone (including my husband’s dad and family)  how unwelcoming we were and isolated.

We also found out that it was the new mom’s birthday so I HAD to get a cake. I mean, you cant have someone over your house who has a birthday without getting some sort of cake. So I did.

Needless to say she was very surprised when I sprung out the cake.

 

We also got a lot of  “wow- you are so sweet for doing that. Mission accomplished: they will say nice tihngs about me to my husband’s family.

The following day I was hosting a Pot Luck in my home. I figured it wasn’t going to be too much work on my end since my friends would be bringing most of the food. Of course I was going to make A dish- but it got out of hand. I ended up making:

A pasta dish/ couscous salad/ Israeli salad/Roasted potato’s/ Grilled Asparagus….. I shouldn’t have made so much bec it kind of defeated the purpose of a Pot Luck, but I don’t have company over much so I wanted to impress. And of course I did… but of course being a hostess is stressful enough.

Here are some pictures of that night:

My friend Oren Dancing at the buffet table.

Riva becoming upset that her brownies didnt look tempting

Riva becoming upset that her brownies didnt look tempting

they were actually a big hit

which meant no one ate my home made baklava

which meant no one ate my home made baklava

The girls

The girls

The guys

Oren & Lisa

Oren & Lisa

Riva & I- childhoos bff's

Riva & I- childhoos bff's

So the following day I took the girls to visit a friend of mine who had her first daughter 5 months ago. I had yet to see her daughter, so we put the girls in their swimsuits and blew up her inflatable kiddie pool (we do live in nyc no room for real pools). The girls seemed to have fun!

Neve being introduced to Elinor

they seem to like one another

getting ready for the pool

getting ready for the pool

me and the girls

me and the girls

Soleil trying to understand why a santa duck is in the pool in July

Soleil trying to understand why a santa duck is in the pool in July

 

Neve tipping over

Neve tipping over

My friend with the girls

My friend with the girls

Neve is already bored with the conversation
The following day we had a rainy BBQ.
Which is why I have been falling asleep at 9pm and missing project runway.
2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

