The other night I had a dream. I don’t call it dreams when my grandmother comes to visit me since I know it’s actually her.

My grandmother visits me often when I sleep. She never actually speaks to me, she is just there with her trademark radiance. Just writing about her makes me tear up… she was one in a million. I had never lost someone I cared so deeply about until she died last June.

Now usually she is there by herself. When I first started dreaming her, I always dreamt about her in her home- which was her mecca. She loved her home so much. I knew this meant that she hadn’t passed on yet- she was still in her home and I was dreaming her there. I know this sounds wacky, but like Ive mentioned before I have always had some strange sixth sense which I try to tune out.

But when I visited my grandparents home in June, I didn’t feel her there. She had passed on. This makes me happy because I know that she is in a better place.

Getting back to the other night, I dreamt her- but she brought someone else. My other grandmother!

I never met my father’s mother since she died a year before I was born. I only know her through pictures and not stories as my father hardly ever mentions her.

So in the dream it was my grandmother who brought my other grandmother with her. It was as if she introduced me to her. It was so nice!

It really made me emotional when I woke up. Call me crazy or anything else you want- but this did happen.

10 thoughts on “

  1. K J and the kids

    I’m glad that your grandma is there for you.

    On another note. Why is there a blond family with twin boys playing the part of you in your picture ? 🙂

    Reply
  2. Kirsten

    That is awesome…I have wished and wished that my stepdad would come through to me in my dreams since his passing but I’ve only had one so far and it was just the best feeling to see his face and hear his voice, even if it was in my dreams. I also have only had 1-2 dreams of my dog, Copper, since his passing which I wish I had more of. I know that probably sounds crazy but I am a very vivid dreamer so it always feels so real. Sure, it hurts to wake up and realize they are gone but it is so worth it just to have them back for a moment.
    Oh, and I love the picture of Neve next to the preemie outfit! Yesterday we were walking through Babie’s R Us and I saw the tiniest little preemie clothes (which they seem to have so much more of now!) and just gasped when I held it up thinking how my babies were swallowed by those outfits just a year ago.
    Our little ones have come so far!!!

    Reply
  3. Gemini Girl

    KJ- That’s bec I wanted an old fashion pic of a mother with twin girls and that’s the only one google gave me. I like it though!

    Reply
  4. Jess

    What an amazing dream. I always read your blog but never comment. So Im saying hi. I always go to topcat after I read yours but its now blocking me. How do I contact her to ne invited to read? Your girls are so adorable and getting so big!

    Reply
  5. Stacie

    Wow. How amazing to have such dreams! Have any idea why she would bring your paternal grandfather with her at this particular time?

    Reply
  6. Mike

    Seeing loved ones in your dreams is comforting, isn’t it?

    This reminds me of the song “Let It Be” by the Beatles. Most people think the Mother Mary in the song is Jesus’ Mom, but it is actually Paul’s. Mary McCartney died when Paul was 14, and one day, after the Beatles were fighting and looking like they might break-up, he had a dream where she appeared and said, “There will be an answer. Let it be…”

    I think that story makes the song have more meaning. To me anyway!

    Reply
  7. Heather

    I feel the same way about my grandmother as you do about yours. I think about her a lot at this time of her. She passed on July 17 and her birthday is July 23. I dreamed of her a lot when I was pregnant. I go to sleep every night hoping I’ll see her again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

