This is why you never talk about your dreams

So after writing that beautiful post, my boss called me into her office. She told me to close the door behind me (which is never a good sign).Then she proceeded to tell me that she was let go and that her position was phased out effective immediately. She was choking back the tears. I was in shock. This woman moved her entire family (inclusing a 2 and 6 yr old) across the country to a rented apt to be in this position. Now she needs to move back?

Just like that, she was gone.

Just like that, I’m out of a job.

I later learnt that along with her ,two other high- ranking people were being let go for a “restructuring”.

Today they are making a company announcement, and then I have a meeting with HR to see what my options are.

I am in disbelief. Since when do EVP’s get phased out? Shit.

My manager was great. She was a female and understood if I had to come late because of my kids or had to leave early. Where will I end up now? I am a bit scared.

I know that every end means a new beginning. I also know that I wasn’t fired personally- which is the worst feeling in the world. I also know that I have a connection or two that may be able to help me out. But I am scared and this is bad timing (my husband is out of a job in late august as well with no prospects as of yet).

I guess I will know more today.

11 thoughts on “This is why you never talk about your dreams

  1. Rachel Inbar

    Ouch. Keeping my fingers crossed for you.

    I was let go of (they hired someone with no kids to do my job at half the salary) just before I found out I was pregnant – 4 years ago. Since then, I have been freelancing and we’re doing OK (not as well as if I’d been working, but not badly). It has worked out really well for me…

    So, like you said, every end is a new beginning – maybe even better than before 🙂

    Reply
  2. Heather

    I’ve been thinking about you non-stop. I’ve got my fingers crossed that this is going to work out. You know I’m ALWAYS here for you!

    Reply
  3. Sugar&Ice

    Hopefully, this will end up being a blessing for you and for your boss! I know this must be terrifying. Good luck!!

    Reply
  4. feistycali

    I honestly believe everything happens for a reason. Something good will come of this, it may take some time, but it will come to you.

    Reply
  5. Pillarr1

    I also hate to sound cliche but this has happened for a reason that may not be apparent yet. You will land on your feet and be better off for it.

    I was let go from one of the many jobs I had. I was not married, had a ton of debt, a car, condo, and a rental condo. I married my husband 4 months later, got a 2 month job through a temp service, took my 401K money out and paid my debt off. I also sold my condo. My health insurance through my husband kicked in just as my company’s insurance ended. Everything worked out for me at the right time. I had a lot of panic attacks in between but it all worked out.

    I am sure it will all work out for you too. Please keep your head up.

    Reply
  6. Stacie

    I saw your twit and got nervous last night. I hope that today brings new beginnigs and every better prospects. Hugs to you and yours…

    Reply
  7. Here I am

    ugh! I’m sorry this is happening. But like you said with every ending a new door opens. Good luck!!!

    Reply
  8. Kerry Lynn

    OH NO! What a blow!

    I really hope things work out quickly for you so you don’t have to stress over the future.

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Work BS « Gemini Girl

Leave a Reply

