Long post

Strange.

Time goes by so slowly when you are IF. Every period you get, every test you take, every shot you get….

But then when you have a baby…

I mean, I just blinked, and my baby girls are 6 months old next week.

SIX MONTHS OLD?

HOW?!

These girls are just the loves of my life. I don’t know how I got so lucky.

You know what I do know though?

I KNOW that my mother-in-law (their grandmother) had a hand in keeping them inside of me for 5 weeks after I went into labor.

You see, my husband’s mother passed away when he was 10 (she 35) in a car accident. From what I hear, she was an amazing women. A woman that everyone wanted to emulate. She went back to school and got her degree with 3 children at home, all the while managed to help them with their homework, cook hot meals and bake cakes. Yes, you know “Superwoman”. Unfortunately, she passed away right after she got her license as a personal accountant where she was setting up a home office to be near her children.

I am a big believer in the afterlife, and a big believer that relatives who have passed on look down and help us. Maybe you guys don’t believe in it, but I do. It is the basis of my faith. And since my husband and I began dating 6 years ago, I have felt her presence in my life. A very strong presence.

I feel it more so when I am on their property in Israel. I mean , come on- two sets of twins in 5 months? She must have had some type of hand in that. Maybe its just me, but I know she was the one who helped “take care” of my girls.

So anyway, back to what I was saying.

My girls make me smile so hard, that my face hurts. I don’t know what I did with my time prior to their births! I guess I had a whole lot of nothing time. Last night, after they were fast asleep.. I lay in bed watching a bit of tv and was weirded out by the fact that I wasn’t up doing something. It’s nice to rest your feet sometimes.

I had a very simple, but nice weekend. On Saturday’s I spend most of the day with the girls alone because my husband works. He usually is home around 2pm- which means it’s mommy duty until then. I’m fine with that because he usually spends a few extra hours a day with the girls since he gets home from work around 3pm during the week. This means Mommy only sees her daughters in the mornings for an hour, and an hour or two at night before bed. It’s hard, but we manage.

My husband is very hands-on- he does just about everything for the girls. So yes, I do have help. I wouldn’t have married a man who expected me to do everything. When people praise him for taking care of the girls, and tell me that I’m “lucky”- I tell them that I would not have married him otherwise. I also explain very nice and well, that I too work outside the home and am out of my house for almost 12 hours a day.

It’s funny.. when a man does something in the house, it’s considered wonderful and nice. But when a woman doesn’t do something in the house, even just once, she’s considered not a great “housewife”. Excuse you.

I just know that I will be hearing so much praise directed to my husband from his family in a few weeks. His brother, you know, the one who just had TWINS doesn’t lift a finger to do anything. He hardly raised his 6 year old son. I just know that when he sees my husband helping me with the girls, he will make some sort of stupid comment- with which I will shoot my fiercely worded venom at him. I guess I dislike the guy because he only calls my husband when he needs something. He never just calls to see how he’s doing or to chat. I’s always in the context of “what can you do for me?” It bothers me to the core.

My husband realizes this and says that he would rather have a messed-up relationship with his brother, than not have one at all. I don’t know. I just know that I hate how his brother uses him.

My husband is a very good guy, with a good soul. Sometimes I wonder how they are even related.

So we still don’t have passports for the girls. We are waiting for the 2 week window to go down to the actual passport office and have it expedited in 2 days (instead of doing it at post office and waiting possibly 4 weeks)

Anywho….

When we come back form our trip, I will be out of a babysitter for a week since my mother will be in Israel. My best friend is going to watch the girls for us. She lives very close by and has two kids of her own (2 yr old& 1 yr old). She says she can handle it… but I feel horrible, that is a lot to handle! She says that my kids don’t really crawl anywhere so she can deal. We’ll see. I will def need to get her a really nice gift for her help.

Her kids are having a birthday party on Sunday. Her daughter turns 1 on May 11th (and her son turned 2 on April 27th). We purchased a pretty cool gift for her children yesterday. I will post pics next week- the girl’s first birthday party!

But you know whatthe funny thing is about May 11th?

I found out I was pregnant on May 11th– the day my best friend gave birth to her daughter, and this year it falls on mothers day- so it’s kind of like full-circle.


The girls with my mother this morning:

Mommy before morning coffee- Neve with fingers in mouth (aka-teething)

Neve in middle of rambling something or other
*BTW- not to toot my own horn, but I have lost 7 pounds so far! Go me!

7 thoughts on “Long post

  1. Heather

    Woooooooooooooo weight loss!!! You keep tooting that horn! Way to go!

    I am doing alright, I still have fifteen pounds until I hit my goal weight. Keep it up!

    Reply
  2. Chas

    Maya, you look so beautiful all of those pictures, especially the second one…love it!

    BTW, I know you and your mom aren’t best buds, but she looks like a kid! When I saw that first pic, I thought “Wow, Maya looks really different with her mouth open.” Then I realized it’s not you..it’s your MOTHER!?! Those are some good aging genes!

    Reply
  3. K J and the kids

    I get that time flies thing.
    I have a 4 year old. A FOUR YEAR OLD !
    It’s amazing though right. You feel very selfless and it goes from being all about you to them.

    Your mom is gorgeous and looks 30.
    That’s nice to have that to look forward to.

    I hope the passport thing works out. I would hate for their to be any kinks. That’s just the travel agent coming out in me πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Topcat

    I love that last pic! I can’t believe they are six moths old already, amazing!

    You and your mum are total stunners, and good on you for losing 7 pounds.

    I haven’t had Monkey yet (hospital won’t let me HA) …. as soon as I do, my sister will post it.

    πŸ™‚

    xox

    Reply
  5. Kristin....

    Found you thru Heather. Your daughters are beautiful. Life with twins is fun/amazing/tiring/frustrating. I have 2 older children as well.

    Reply
  6. Kari

    I can’t beleive how big and beautiful your girls are getting. I know all about the hands in the mouth….teething twins, what could be more fun?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

