G- Is for Girdle

Ok, let’s discuss shape wear. Yes, you know those wonderful sucker-inners.

During my pregnancy, and after one of the main pieces of advice I received was “Wear a girdle”! I didn’t originally, because I was still healing form the C-section (which was brutal), but I did eventually. I settled on this one:
Not me – meanwhile does this model look like she even needs one?

I hate shape wear, I do. I cant really get comfortable at all, and although my tummy isn’t dangling everywhere, I don’t know if it being sucked in is truly making my tummy smaller. I know that obviously, with time- your stomach does become smaller after a baby (or two) but does it have to do with wearing one of these contraptions? I feel naked without one when I get dressed, so I am usually always wearing one.

When I get home, the first thing I do is run to my bedroom to strip it off. GD the love/hate relationship I have with that thing.

Does anyone else wear one? If so, which one did you like? Do you feel like it has helped reduce your stomach?

8 thoughts on “G- Is for Girdle

  1. Heather

    The one you wear looks really nice, I should look into it. I wear a Bella Band all the time, did you ever use those? If I don’t have it on, I feel like I am jiggling all over the place. Who knows if it actually does anything, though!

    Reply
  2. Chas

    I don’t think they’re actually known for reducing your stomach…they just make it appear that way. My mamaw wore one for years, and I can tell you that it never helped her belly, lol. I don’t have anything like this. I just try to stay away from shirts that are too tight on the tummy. Of course, Lila is 2, so I’ve had a lot more time to figure it all out.

    Reply
  3. Topcat

    I don’t think your tummy can ever be the same again after you have a baby …. unless you’re Madonna.

    I didn’t even know you could get a sexy black girdle! Cool.

    I’ve just heard the key is sit-ups.
    A lot of sit-ups.

    xox

    Reply
  4. Kerry Lynn

    If wearing that girdle made me look like that I’d certainly wear one.

    It actually never occurred to me to wear one. But my wardrobe consists of jeans and loose tops in the winter and moo-moo dresses in the summer.

    I have a few weddings coming up this summer so maybe I should consider one.

    Reply
  5. Denise

    Hell no! I’d rather get a paper cut on my tongue! Fat is fat sorry. At least that’s how I feel. I don’t feel that any amount of a girldle will help me!

    Reply
  6. Michell

    Never wore one in my life and don’t plan to start any time soon. See, there is only so much fat that a girdle will cover and mine exceeds that so why bother.

    Reply
  7. Kirsten

    I have the cheaper version of the Spanx brand (got it at Target) and it helped a little but it was SO tight, I am not sure I could do it every day. I want to get the real Spanx though because I have heard they are great, though a little pricey.

    Reply
  8. Furrow

    Hells, no! I can’t even stand pantyhose. I’m just getting used to the jingle-jangle, and occasionally remembering to do sit ups.

    And, I totally hate that company for putting a skinny model in a girdle. They can kiss my flabby butt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

