Dirty Dancing

Have I ever mentioned my love for the film “Dirty Dancing”? I dont think I have.

It is the only movie I can watch 100 times without ever becoming bored- I probably have watched it 100 times since by age 10 I had seen it 32 times (I counted).

I was 6 when I first layed my eyes on Patrick Swayze. I thought he was yucky. My 9 year old friend had a poster of him on her wall, and I thought he was an old man. I was into Fred Savage- *sigh*- my dreamboy- who BTW I eventually met and made a fool of myself in front of, but more on that later.

She said I just had to watch Dirty Dancing. So there I was 6 years old in 1987 (yes that would make me just about 27) watching the film. It was love at first “Hugry Eyes”. Now granted, I didnt understand half of what they were talking about like:

“Penny is Knocked up”
“A man with a dirty knife and a folding table came in”

and of course the class struggles between Baby and Swayze aka “Johnny”. I mean, why couldnt they just be together?

I still get teary eyed when I here Patrick’s “She’s like the Wind”. How can you NOT love that song?

Not quite sure why my mother let me watch it. It was, after all, Dirty Dancing- and I was in the first grade (I guess then one can ask the question why my mother bought me a christina apple.gate poster for my room.. she was wearing pink lingerie in the picture. Did my mother think that would make me feminine? she did think I was a tomboy-I guess that’s somthing to discuss with a therapist).

I guess Dirty Dancing it was the High Sch00l Musical of my generation- but with sex, abortions, and underground dancing clubs- Take that Disn*ey!

Too bad Jenn Grey had a nosejob- I wonder if she had not had her nose fixed if her career would have been any better. And where is Patrick? I saw him on Oprah a few months ago, dancing away. I wish I could dance. Expecially with him. I know he’s my mom’s age, but if he could still move that way- I would love to be his parter. Of course he would have a bit of trouble lifting me these days

OMG- As I was searching for pictures to post I came across a dirty dancing game!!!!!!!!!! here’s the link:

http://renreynolds.blogspot.com/2007_11_01_archive.html

8 thoughts on “Dirty Dancing

  1. Chas

    Oh Maya, maybe this is why I like you so much. Dirty Dancing is my all time very favorite movie. I have seen it more times than I can count. I was 8 when it came out, and my mom would not let me watch it. I believe I first watched it at a slumber party. My friend whose house this party occurred had a Patrick Swayze t-shirt, and I also thought he was old and not nearly as cute as Kirk Cameron. Then I watched the movie…I was hooked. It’s funny that you mention not knowing what it meant to be “knocked up” or what a “man with a dirty knife and a folding table” implied. Matter of fact, I had no idea what was up with Penny through the entire movie…and it stayed like that for years. I couldn’t have cared less about here, I was all about Baby and Johnny. I developed a huge crush on him. The fact that he’s six years older than my dad and almost ten years older than my mom never registered with me. He seemed way younger. I was pretty jealous of Jennifer Grey. I would rewind the part when he gets out of bed over and over…you know the part. Ah…I could watch it right now if Lila wasn’t around.

    I’m not convinced Jennifer Grey would have been famous even w/out the nose job. I’m not sure anyone would have ever thought of her as anyone other than Baby….kind of like Carrie Fisher and Princess Leia.

    Reply
  2. K J and the kids

    LOVED dirty dancing.
    Still do.

    Funny thing is, our donor has been told that he looks like patrick swayze. hmm ?

    Reply
  3. Anns

    Funny, I never really got into the whole DD thing but in retrospect I think I see the lure – we just didn’t have it where I grew up. Kids Incorporated would have had to have been my “HSM” – isn’t it funny that Fergie is so huge now!

    PS: Good guesses there on where I work – let’s just say you’re right and she and Emeril can BITE ME!

    Reply
  4. Mony

    “I carried a watermelon”
    I adore this movie too. Had such a crush on Patrick. I was 15 when it came out & saw it 11 times at the movies.

    Reply
  5. Kirsten

    I loooove Dirty Dancing and I also remember wondering what the heck they were talking about during some of the parts about Penny. That movie is just the best…always made me want to go to camp πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Stacie

    Yes! I can watch DD for hours and hours. It is one of my all time favs.

    Glad to see that I am not alone. Isaac think I am nuts…”I don’t know what you see in that movie…” Sigh. He just doesn’t get it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

