All is stable

wanted to drop by and let everyone know that I am in stable condition. Thank GD I have not contracted.

My water did break for Baby A, but since amniotic fluid replenishes itself the baby is still ok, even though I do leak.

The main thing they look for at this point is:

1) Contractions
2) Infection- since you have a higher risk of infection when your sac is ruptured.

They take my blood every day (to check for infection) and I am hooked up to the monitor 24/7 for the babies heartbeats/ contractions. I have an iv in as well that supplies fluid, and am on antibiotics.

They did a sono today- like they do every day to check fluid and movement. Turns out it seems as though my cervix has now closed. My doctor believes that the sac was pressing down on my cervix which is what caused it to open in the first place. Now that the water is less, it is not weighing down on my cervix. My doctor also said that since I am almost 30 weeks, the lack of fluid isn’t as important at this point.

Baby A weighs 3.3 pounds, and Baby B weighs 3.8 pounds. Not sure how accurate that is, but I am hoping it is.

Otherwise, I am just happy that I am still pregnant….

I am in a high risk room which bums me out. No window, and the nurses are not too nice. You ring the call button and you wait 30 minutes before someone comes in. This whole situation has been hard, but as my husband says: we must look at the positive. He has been my rock throughout this entire process. He sleeps by my side, and helps me with the bedpan (since I cant get up)… he does it all. I couldnt have picked a better husband or father.

Thank you all for keeping me and my girls in your prayers and thoughts. I know that they are helping. Now, I am praying to reach the 32 weeks mark…… one day at a time.

23 thoughts on “All is stable

  1. The Town Criers

    Sending good thoughts. This part is so hard. But know we’re all thinking about you and sending good energy.

    Reply
  2. Tracy

    Thinking of you and wishing you quickly passing time to 32 weeks. I’m glad you have such a wonderful husband by your side.

    Reply
  3. Chas

    Oh Maya, I have thought of you a thousand times over the past day or so. I just knew that the babies were already here, and now I find out that they’re still safe and sound inside. What great news!! You and the girls are in my prayers always!

    Reply
  4. Michell

    Hi, I found your blog from stirrup queens. I’m sorry you are going through this but send many hopeful wishes that you continue to not have contractions and that those wonderful little girlies stay put for a while.

    Reply
  5. K J and the kids

    I don’t know how I couldn’t be the first person to comment. I have checked your blog like 15 times today.
    WHEW !!! THANK GOODNESS you are doing good.
    AMAZING MAYA ! AMAZING !
    I can’t believe you didn’t have those babies…I thoroughly expected to come on and see pictures of you and 2 tiny little girls.
    Keep up the good work. Oh and a little tip. If you want the nurses to come in faster…just remove one of the monitors so it beeps at their station 🙂 They will come in to make sure everything is ok as well as to shut the beeping off. Just a trick I learned.

    I’m sending the BIGGEST cyber kiss to that husband of yours. What a great guy !

    Reply
  6. my two cents

    So glad to hear you are stable!! You are remarkable, and so is your husband. This is a hard time, but you are getting through it so well. I think your girls are at a good weight, and they will only continue to get bigger and stronger every day. I was in the high risk unit after I delivered, and not it is not fun!! I know you’ll get through the next two week and two days, and maybe even longer, just as you say, one day at at time.

    Reply
  7. topcat

    Maya I had a dream about you last night, you were so calm and your babies were doing beautifully. Yay!!

    I’m thinking of you every day, and sending you my best wishes and love.

    Hang in there, chickie. You’re hubbie sounds wonderful. xoxo

    Reply
  8. The Dunn Family

    I’m so glad you are all hanging in there! I’ve been checking back to often to see if there was an update. I can’t even imagine how hard this must be, but it will be so worth it in the end (I know, I know, like you don’t know that??)

    Sending hugs!

    Reply
  9. Nearlydawn

    Wow! You’ve had a rough few days, huh? I’m so glad to see that you are holding steady.

    I think it sounds odd that in the “high risk” unit you are having to wait so long for a nurse to arrive. Kinda nuts when you think about it.

    Maybe they need a new system – a green button if you need them to come by when they have a minute and a RED button for when you need them NOW! Right freaking NOW Damnit!!! 🙂 Maybe you could suggest that once your stay is over… 🙂

    Hang in there – it is just a few more days now!!!

    Reply
  10. Heather

    It is good practice for him, he will have lots of diapers to change.

    Lots of prayers that everything stays non-eventful for another couple weeks. I know it must suck to be stuck in that bed, if you need links of time wasters let me know – I’m a wealth of crap.

    Reply
  11. es

    I’ve been checking your blog every day for updates… glad to hear that the babies are still inside of you and that you’re situation has stabilized. Hang in there!!

    Reply
  12. K J and the kids

    SIIIIIIINCE all you do is lay around all day and watch Oprah 🙂 (HUGE JOKE !)
    Can you keep us updated. This silent waiting is driving me CRAZY 🙂
    Just a post that says. STILL HERE ! or maybe Can you hear me now.
    THAT WAY….when you are silent for a day or 2 we might have an idea that something exciting is going down.
    JUST a suggestion from an impatient friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

