29w 1 day

29 weeks !

We are so blessed to have gotten to this point. Every day that passes is a miracle. Every day inside is a day that will only make them healthier. Ive been here close to a month now and I am glad that I am closer to meeting my babies. I know that in a few weeks my life will change. I just pray that they will be healthy, because everything else fails in comparison. At the end of the day that’s all that matters.
My hospital stay has been OK for the most part. There are a few nurses that I want to hit upside the head though. Wednesday for example:
My nurse comes in right as I woke up and said “Let me know when you want to be hooked up to the Doppler”
(Mind you, I hate the Doppler because my girls never stay long enough in one place- one moves around and its hard to get a reading. Plus laying on my back for 30-40 minutes is not an easy feat with babies applying pressure on you.)
I told the nurse I would let her know when I was ready.
An hour later she comes in again and says “Are you ready yet?”
I said “not yet.”
She comes by 30 minutes later and says “Did you forget about us?”
At that point I was reeling! I said I wasn’t in the mood.
Yes, I may have come across as nasty at that point- but come on!
She leaves and then sends in a nursing student. I’m not kidding.
The student says “Do you feel the babies kicking?”
I say- “Yes”

She goes on to say that they need to hook me up to the Doppler (track heartbeats and contractions).

Wow- at that point I was ready to check out of the hospital.

Now, I don’t need to be hooked up at a certain time. It’s more or less a time frame of 12 hours.

Firstly, I’m not here because the babies were or are in danger, it was for contractions.

Secondly, the day prior I had an ultrasound done (where the ultrasound tech actually was nice enough this time around to give me a picture)- and I had two Doppler’s done that day. They really needed to chill out.

So I guess that nurse has now labeled me “difficult” because the nurse that I had that night asked if I was feeling better since she heard I was having a bad day. Unfortunately I have had that nurse in the AM for 3 days in a row and I know she thinks I’m crazy. But there are so many nurses that love me because they dont pressure me and so I get to be my witty adorable self. Some nurses say that they wish all their patients were like me.

I mean, I need some level of privacy here. I know its a hospital, but for my mental sanity I need to know that I have some type of control over things.

I don’t know if I’m making any sense to you.

The days are actually passing by quicker than they were at first. I think my outlook has now changed for the better as the weeks pass, just knowing that my children’s chances grow with each passing week. I know that I am not out of the woods yet, but I am in a much better place than I was 4 weeks ago.

I really do feel that us IF’s cant catch a break. I mean, at first its not being able to get pregnant or stay pregnant. Then its the constant worries and complications that our pregnancies bring. Most of the women that I know that had hospital stays during pregnancy were women who had difficulties conceiving (or were older).
This morning at around 5am I woke up feeling yucky. I slept horribly and felt nauseous throughout my sleep. When I woke up I went to the restroom and threw up. Unfortunately, that’s not where it ended. I’m at the point in my pregnancy where I am constipated. Last night before bed, the nurse gave me a pill to help with that, but said that it would work between 18-20 hours. Not so.
Not only did I (TMI) explode with diarrhea, I was puking into the garbage can at the same time. I mean, I know what the diarrhea was from but the puking? It was a horrible feeling. This morning the doctor said that I should drink a lot to make up for my fluid loss, but if I were to throw up again I needed to have an iv placed in my arm for fluids. Thank GD I have not thrown up again and I am making sure that I am drinking enough.
I also have no appetite at all. I haven’t had any since I got here. I guess that’s because these babies are squishing my stomach and I have no room. Plus this heartburn is killing me. I shouldn’t even begin to tell you how difficult it is for me to get out of bed. I am huge now!
I’ve also been getting braxton-hicks but have been assured that its ok and normal.
But of course it is all worth it.

My husband has also been wonderful. He amazes me with each passing day. The man literally goes from either school or work to my house or to the store to pick things up for me, then comes directly to my hospital room and stays until 10pm. He then drives home and goes to bed to start his day all over again. There is a plus side though. He stays here for hours and does his homework so the man has been getting A’s in all his classes! That’s nuts with all the pressure he’s under. I am so proud of him.

My friends have also been great. Tonight two friends came over bearing food- nothing better than that. These are friends that I have been very close to all of my life but since Ive gotten married, sort of drifted away from (they are all single and go out all the time to bars and fancy restaurants in Manhattan). I see them on birthdays and occasions, but other than that not too much. Since they found out that I was hospitalized, they come here once or twice a week (they work late and live in another city) always with food a smile. I am astonished by their love even with our different lives. Meanwhile, my only brother has only been to see me once. He is so self-involved, but that’s how he’s always been. It’s sad, but what can you do?

I was just put on the doppler and I had a contraction… it freaks me out when I see them coming because I now know how to read the machine. My Doctor said not to worry… but that dosnt stop me from worrying. He is the best doctor though so I know he knows what hes talking about. Of course every time I have a contraction and am awaiting a response from my doctor’s reading- I go online and research preemie babies born at the week that I am currently in. I know that its not too healhty to do so but I need to know the facts.

I am paranoid.

5 thoughts on “29w 1 day

  1. nailgirl

    Hang in there. How are you and your husband affording for you to be off work so early when you did not expect it?

    Reply
  2. Gemini Girl

    Nailgirl- I am lucky enough to working for a great company that offers Short term disabilty- so I am getting paid regardless.

    Reply
  3. my two cents

    Congratulations on 29 weeks!! You are amazing! I really admire your attitude and how you appreciate your husband through all of this. I think your friends are great, too. All of those people are so important right now. When I was on bed rest and monitoring contractions from home, I was able to have up to four per hour and that was still considered normal. You might ask your doctor how many you can have in an hour that don’t cause concern. That might help you feel a little more in control during the doppler. I am sorry you were sick! I remember how awful it is to sneeze at that point in pregnancy – you just feel like your body is going to explode. I can’t imagine adding other, unpleasant things…I hope that goes away and stays away!! I went on bed rest at around 29 weeks, so it doesn’t compare to you having already been there for four weeks. My babies were born at 36 weeks to the day and weighed in at 4lb 15oz, and 3lb 13oz. A little small perhaps considering that they were only four weeks early, but they were basically healthy. A few minor things, but still you worry. That is part of mothering. I know several mothers of multiples who carried longer and had bigger babies, and at least one friend who carried the full 40 weeks, whose babies went home from the hospital with them. That is a ray of hope!! Mine stayed in the hospital eight and twelve days respectively. It seems so very very short now, but it was their whole lifetime then. I know another mother whose twins were born at 30 weeks, and they were hospitalized for a while, and it was rocky at times, but they were co-valedictorians of their high school class when they graduated two years ago! I’m telling you this just for reassurance. I don’t thing you’ll deliver anytime soon. I think you are going to make it to 35 or 36 weeks!! My twins are both great, healthy, smart, wonderful kids. You love your girls so much already that I know yours will be the same!!

    Reply
  4. Chas

    I can’t believe these nurses aren’t compassionate enough to realize the position you’re in…stuck in the hospital for weeks worrying about your babies. Man, I just want to hit them for you. You are doing great,and I’m so happy your spirits seem to be a little higher now. If I were even remotely within driving distance, I’d be there in a heartbeat!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

