Hospital: Day 15

Another day in the hospital.

The funniest/ scariest thing happened this morning.

Around 6am a nurse came into my room with a baby in it’s little rolling cart. Since she didn’t turn on the light, my room was completely dark. I was sleeping but I arose when she came in. I looked at the nurse and said that although the child was cute- it wasn’t my baby. She said “Well how do you know- it’s dark in here?” I answered that since I haven’t given birth yet she couldn’t possibly be mine. She said “Oh” and walked out with the baby cart.

OK now let me ask you this- if I had given birth to one baby and they would have brought that child into my room in the dark, how could I have known it was mine? Imagine I would have started breastfeeding?

So that was the scary part of it all.

Seeing that cute little baby made me sentimental but also jealous. I’m jealous of the women in the rooms by me that have their beautiful babies in their arms. I’m jealous that everything is now behind them and they have those crying little angels. Everything feels so up in the air with me. I don’t know when my babies will come into this world, I don’t know if they are healthy or not. So many questions. So many worries.

On a brighter note, I had my growth sonogram today.

Baby A (lazy baby like her daddy) weighs 2.3 pounds.

Baby B (mover and shaker like mommy) weighs in at 2.7 pounds.

Baby A seems more passive than her sister already- she’s even getting less food apparently. Of course I know that being passive doesn’t have anything to do with weight, but I’m not surprised.

The fluid in both are good and nothing has changed in my cervix. Again, no news is good news.

I’m now 27weeks and 3 days. I am blessed that I got here.

5 thoughts on “Hospital: Day 15

  1. Chas

    Wow, it’s scary that they’re not more careful where they take those babies! I would be pissed if I knew a nurse had brought Lila into some other woman’s room and tried to give her to them by mistake.

    Reply
  2. wanting4

    Been reading your blog for a while, probably cause I was raised in Brooklyn, Canarsie to be exact. Trust me, you would have known INSTANTLY it wasnt your kid! A worse scare is “if they brought MY kid into someones room would THEY have recognized?” But they wouldve, just worse thinking about it in reverse! In my gut I know you are going to have 2 perfect children, just wait! You’ll be pulling your hair out soon enough! Love Suzanne

    Reply
  3. wanting4

    it IS a sticky situation! plus, this is my second husband so my son is her only. Thats why it feels important to have another, while its MY fourth its HIS second.So there’s no DEALING with this, its ME who has to deal. Hubby feels terrible, he really treats her non-mom like. He sees her problems. I was going to post more on my blog but hubby woke up. She wont bathe and if you suggest that she’s been here for 3 days and she’s getting ripe she just says “dont smell my butt and we’ll be ok” GROSS! There’s nothing I can do except bitch anonymously. BTW, I used to work on St. Marks place for years, at a place called St. Marks Comics. Just feels good to talk to someone from home! love Suzanne

    Reply
  4. es

    Your babies are getting so big!

    Thanks for your comment on my blog… it made me teary. You are so right that the positives outweigh the negatives- even though a twin pregnancy is so much harder than a singleton, I am SO grateful for what I’ve been given and could never have imagined it any other way. Talking to one of my friends last night, she’s like- you could totally have your babies in 10 weeks- that is so soon!! I am so excited for you! And it hearing her excitement made me get all happy and excited for how much my life will change.

    I hope that both of us hang in there for as long as we can and have 2 sets of beautiful and HEALTHY twin babies!

    Reply
  5. topcat

    Wow, I can’t believe that happened!

    I hope your pillows are nicely fluffed, Miss Maya. And that you are getting all the care and attention that you need.

    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

