Ode to Bloat

So all the IVF medication that I have taken over the past month and a half has made me extremely bloated. The problem- I already look 3 months pregnant when I am only 5 weeks along.

This presents a problem because people at work are already looking at me with a cock eye. I know what they are thinking!

Either:

A) The girl has gained weight

B) She’s majorly pregnant

And I am not ready to share the news yet!

It’s a bit touchy right now because I was just hired for a position that I interviewed for over two and a half months ago. I don’t want my new boss to know until it’s time. No one *wants* to hire a pregnant woman. So as much as I try to hide it, my tummy is just there. It is. There is nothing that I can do about it. I could wear tunics from here to tomorrow- but if a small burst of wind comes my way and the shirt hits my stomach.. well, you get the picture.
So that’s it. Trying to beat the bloat, but the bloat is winning.
3 thoughts on “Ode to Bloat

  1. K J and the kids

    I won’t try and predict anything….but I felt the same way and was pregnant with twins.
    I remember looking 3 months pregnant when I went in for my beta and I told the nurses that I was pregnant with 4 🙂
    Impossible as I only inseminated 2 embryos.(well I guess not impossible)
    Any ways, twins it was. My first beta was 900’ish at 14dpo.
    Good luck ! Twins are a miracle…and yes you can give both lots of love and attention.
    They can also give you just as much love times 2.

    Reply
  2. ava

    I think I wrote almost the exact same post when I was about as far along as you are! Yeah, the horrendous bloat…yet another thing no one tells you about pregnancy.

    Hang in there, it will get better! I think mine went away around week 8 or so.

    And hang in there waiting for the first u/s, I know that is so stressful. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you that you have a nice healthy little bean in the right spot (or maybe two!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

